Wilco: June 26, 2015 Solid Sound Festival – Flac/MP3/Streaming

July 3, 2015

Wilco Solid Sound 15 Loerzel
[photo by Robert Loerzel from Underground Bee]

The Friday night Wilco show of the band’s semi-annual Solid Sound Festival has become the thing of surprises. Two years ago, the Friday performance became the now-legendary all-covers show that blew up the internet overnight and is by far the most popular recording in the history of this site. For this year’s Fest, the opening night set featured an all-acoustic performance with the band playing it in an old school centered microphone bluegrass style. While this configuration is not entirely new to Wilco — the encore segments of the 20th Anniversary the Fall tour featured a similar setup — the performance of an entire two-plus hour show certainly was a novelty. Additionally, in the long-form set the various band members got a chance to stretch their instrumentation wings — we heard some mandolin, accordion, banjo, slide guitar and stand-up piano. The show’s setlist was not particularly rare, but that wasn’t the point. It was the band’s ability to provide interesting new arrangements to Wilco classics that makes this show a special event. And, in celebration of the recent win for fairness, Jeff Tweedy saluted marriage equality by declaring in the middle of “Hesitating Beauty” that it was “so much nicer singing this song now that everyone can get married”. We’re streaming that track below.

Wilco will be on the Festival circuit for the most part this Summer, dates here. We’ll catch them again at the Gathering of the Vibes in Connecticut in August.

Our friend Pete recorded this show from the area directly in front of the soundboard with the hypercardioid Neumanns. As with all of Wilco FOH Stan’s work, this was is another excellent mix and the sound quality (other than the boisterous crowd) is quite excellent. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Hesitating Beauty”:

Solid Sound Festival
North Adams MA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded inside Soundboard Cage

Neumann KM-185s > Sound Devices 702 > 24bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded by gr8fulpete
Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 2:10:26]
01 Misunderstood
02 War on War
03 I’m Always in Love
04 Company in My Back
05 Hummingbird
06 Bull Black Nova
07 Handshake Drugs
08 Hesitating Beauty
09 She’s a Jar
10 One Wing
11 Kamera
12 New Madrid
13 Forget the Flowers
14 It’s Just That Simple
15 Airline to Heaven
16 Dawned on Me
17 I Got You
18 Passenger Side
19 Outta Mind (Outta Site)
20 [happy birthday to Mikael Jorgensen]
21 Whole Love
22 Jesus Etc
23 Walken
24 The Thanks I Get
25 Theologians
26 Shot in the Arm

Please note that the files are incorrectly labeled 6/25 on the download.

If you download this recording from NYCTaper we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their 20th Anniversary Box Set Alpha Mike Foxtrot from their website [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 Responses to Wilco: June 26, 2015 Solid Sound Festival – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. Keith
    July 3, 2015 at 8:05 am

    Sounds great.

    Thanks again lads.

  2. Horatio Algar
    July 4, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    DL links not working

  3. July 4, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    I just checked and both are working for me.

  4. j
    July 4, 2015 at 1:00 pm

    Dude, thank you.

  5. July 4, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Works for me. Thanks a lot! Any chance you can reup the mentioned “now-legendary all-covers show” in mp3?

  6. jon
    July 4, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    ive tried in firefox and Ie and chrome, and everytime the download fails

  7. clyde
    July 6, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    Got it. Works great. How about the live band show from the next night?

  8. David
    July 6, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    I can’t thank you enough for all of these shows! We saw the mics from the hill and I was looking forward to this post. We were joking that it would have been perfect for Wilco to do the exact same set for the Saturday night electric show. I’d have loved to have been able to compare them side by side that way.

  9. Henry
    July 6, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    Thank you!

    I’m enjoying this, though I do find it strange that the crowd noise is in the front of the mix, and the band is pushed into the background. Maybe the band is putting out this tape to whet appetites for when the official mix is released. If so, good strategy, as I’ll be sure to pay up for that!

  10. July 7, 2015 at 9:23 am

    Both links say “Access has expired
    The link to this file has expired.
    Contact the sender to resend the file.”

  11. July 7, 2015 at 9:25 am

    A major online publication stole the links so we deleted and are re-upping now. Flac will be back in a few minutes, MP3 later today.

    It was Slate by the way. Complain to them.

  12. ken lopez
    July 7, 2015 at 9:29 am

    These download links seem to have expired. Is there any chance of re-upping them, or are they located somewhere else now? Thanks.

  13. ken lopez
    July 7, 2015 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for the quick response; I feel like I’m in a time warp: You answered my question before I finished asking it.

    Thanks for the links!

  14. July 7, 2015 at 9:33 am

    FLAC is back. MP3 is uploading fast and will be back in a few minutes.

  15. Awesome
    July 7, 2015 at 9:35 am

    Nice & thanks can’t wait to hear, Do you have the Tweedy set as well?

  16. July 7, 2015 at 9:39 am

    Yes on the Tweedy set. Its coming soon.

  17. Henry
    July 7, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    Had no trouble downloading MP3s — thank you! What a great set. One thing I’m wondering: surprised that vocals are so far back in the mix. Instrumentation and, especially, crowd noise appear front and center. Is there any way I can adjust this? Would I find an improvement with Flac files? (not an audiophile, and not using high-end equipment, though) (P.S. I just discovered your site today and have also downloaded Wilco/2013 at Solid Sound. My comments about sound quality apply to that, as well.) Thank you for your suggestions.

  18. Kyle Thompson
    July 7, 2015 at 7:35 pm

    Thank you so much for this. Been a Jeff Tweedy fan since the Uncle Tupelo days. One of the best sets I’ve heard in a while.

  19. Dustin
    July 8, 2015 at 7:52 am

    Awesome; thanks again!

  20. Kyle Polk
    October 17, 2019 at 6:36 pm

    Download seems to be expired?

  21. October 18, 2019 at 12:02 am

    Yes, looks like the MP3 link is expired. Let me see if I can find it and re-up.

  22. Randy Fears
    November 24, 2019 at 7:31 pm

    Can you please reload this show in MP3 and make it available for downloading? The link has expired per the message I receive after clicking on the link for the MP3 download. Thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.