Clap Your Hands Say Yeah: August 2, 2015 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

August 12, 2015

[photos courtesy of Will from We All Want Someone to Shout For]

I’ve written and re-written multiple versions of my “review” of the Clap Your Hands Say Yeah 10th anniversary tour, most of which eviscerated the blog culture of previous decade where self-appointed know-nothing “tastemakers” wrung bands like CYHSY through the buzz cycle. But the reality is that most of those blogs are long gone — there’s no point in beating a dead horse. The better story here is that CYHSY are still very much alive — albeit with some different personnel. What began as Alec Ounsworth’s semi-solo project has ten years on become essentially the same project as CYHSY is now supplemented live by touring musicians. Last week’s shows at Bowery Ballroom consisted of a run through the band’s self-titled debut album, a half-dozen other numbers and one excellent cover. We caught the Sunday night show, and if the current conventional wisdom is that CYHSY are a band of the last decade, that news didn’t reach the packed crowd who sang and danced throughout the entire show. This kind of enthusiasm is built on quality music and cultivated through grassroots fan connections — the type of old fashioned “hype” that doesn’t rely on some “tastemaker” with a cute domain name spending too much time on a laptop in the parents basement. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah will continue this tour internationally throughout the end of August, dates here.

This show was recorded from our usual balcony location at this venue with the Schoeps cards which were mixed with an excellent board feed. The sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Disappointed” (Morrissey cover):

Stream “Is This Love?”:

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request, and feel free to repost the Soundcloud links.

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Bowery Ballroom
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:13:15]
01 Clap Your Hands!
02 Let the Cool Goddess Rust Away
03 Over and Over Again (Lost and Found)
04 Sunshine and Clouds (And Everything Proud)
05 Details of the War
06 The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth
07 Is This Love?
08 Heavy Metal
09 Blue Turning Gray
10 In This Home On Ice
11 Gimme Some Salt
12 [banter – spirit animal]
13 Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood
14 Into Your Alien Arms
15 Some Loud Thunder
16 Coming Down
17 Disappointed [Morrissey]
18 Satan Said Dance
19 [encore break]
20 As Always
21 [band introductions]
22 Adam’s Plane

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from Undertow Music [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.