Fiery Furnaces – June 30, 2007 – Lossless Download

July 1, 2007

I was introduced to the music of the Fiery Furnaces through a live cover of their song “Tropical Ice-land” by Of Montreal. Kevin Barnes called their Blueberry Boat the album he “goes to sleep with at night”.

When one door closes, sometimes another better door opens. When Morrissey postponed his show (see below), I was fortunate that a concert of this quality was also scheduled in the NYC area. After securing a ticket through craigslist, it was off to Jersey.

Its hard to describe the music of Fiery Furnaces without engaging in weird musical juxtapositions. They perform oddly accessible alt-pop, with a dry sense of humor, and strange twists of melody. My best absurd description would be the 1975-era Patti Smith fronting a band with members of Captain Beefheart.

The Maxwell’s performance captured below was superb in all respects. The sound quality, the performance, and the energy of the crowd and the band were all outstanding.

Direct download of complete show in FLAC [HERE].

More about FLAC

Fiery Furnaces
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Recorded from in Front of the Soundboard Booth

DPA 4021’s > Marantz PMD-660 (Oade BCM) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:24:07]
01 Japanese Slippers
02 In My Little Thatched Hut
03 I’m in No Mood to Comb My Hair
04 Black-Hearted Boy
05 Bitter Tea
06 I’m Waiting to Know You
07 The Vietnamese Telephone Ministry
08 Oh Sweet Woods
09 Borneo
10 Benton Harbor Blues
11 Whistle Rhapsody
12 Teach Me Sweetheart
13 Bitter Tea
14 Single Again
15 Wicker
16 Quay Cur
17 I’m Gonna Run
18 Here Comes the Summer
19 Blueberry Boat
20 Tropical Ice-Land
21 Spaniolated
22 Name Game
23 Birdie Brain
24 1917
25 Police Sweater Blood Vow
26 Restorative Beer
27 Widow City

As with all concerts featured on this site, please support this unique artist, and buy their latest album.

6 Responses to Fiery Furnaces – June 30, 2007 – Lossless Download

  1. July 2, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    I look forward to hearing this one. I some them @ the Horseshoe in Toronto, on June 25, & they were fantastic. So unbelievably tight. Jason Lowenstein was great. Thanks again.

  2. July 3, 2007 at 10:23 am

    Thank you very much for telling us about this taping. I’ve posted a link in the band’s official forum… take care!

  3. Lenny
    July 5, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    sorry you had to go to Jersey.

  4. stontt
    July 10, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    can’t thank you enough.

  5. Neilantman
    July 10, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Thank you

  6. July 18, 2007 at 11:14 am

    It looks like from the tracklists coming out from the new album that Track 01 should be “Japanese Sleepers” and not Slippers. Track 15 is “Wicker Whatnot”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.