Blitzen Trapper: February 27, 2009 Bowery – Flac and MP3 Downloads

March 1, 2009

[photo courtesy of Jenn Barnett Photosmore here]

Without much fanfare, Portland’s Blitzen Trapper sold out consecutive nights in NYC on a weekend when there were a glut of shows for concertgoers to attend. On Friday at Bowery Ballroom, the band performed an energetic and tight ninety-minute set heavy on material from their universally acclaimed September 2008 release Furr. Blitzen Trapper exhibit a plethora of classic influences (Dylan, Neil Young, Wilco, etc), often contained in stop-on-a-dime precise changes within the same song, and Friday night’s excellent set was no exception.

We recorded this set from our standard location at the Bowery. Of particular note was the sound mix provided by the band’s sound technician. The combination of his talent and the superb sound system in this venue yielded an outstanding recording of this show. The crowd was quite rambunctious and chatty, but even that does not detract from this capture. Enjoy!

Blitzen Trapper’s show on Saturday at Music Hall was recorded by an nyctaper correspondent and will be posted within days.

Alela Diane’s opening set from the Bowery was recorded and will be posted next, as the artist has already granted permission.

Plants and Animals set from the Bowery was recorded and will be posted pending artist approval.

This Recording is now available for Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

Blitzen Trapper
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded from Balcony Rail
Next to Soundboard

Neumann KM-150’s (AK-50 Hypercardiod Capsules) > Apogee Minime > digital coaxial > M-Audio Microtrack > 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (set fades, slight level adjustments, downsample) > CD Wave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:26:21]
01 Fire & Fast Bullets
02 Saturday Nite
03 God & Suicide
04 Stolen Shoes & a Rifle
05 Sleepytime in the Western World
06 Murder Babe
07 Big Black Bird
08 Canyon’s Edge
09 Summer Twin
10 Furr
11 Country Rain
12 Cocaine Blues (traditional)
13 Not Your Lover
14 Country Caravan
15 Black River Killer
16 Lady on the Water
17 Gold for Bread
18 Jericho
19 Love U
20 Echo
21 Wild Mountain Nation
22 Devil’s A-Go-Go
23 [encore break]
24 The Last Thing on My Mind (Tom Paxton)
25 Asleep For Days

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Blizen Trapper, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their releases from the links at their website, and directly from Sub Pop Records.

4 Responses to Blitzen Trapper: February 27, 2009 Bowery – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Carlo
    March 1, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Awesome. Thank you for this!!!

  2. commuter
    March 3, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Many thanks. I hope Plants and Animals get posted. IMO, Best set of the night.

  3. March 9, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Unfortunately, Plants and Animals have not responded to our initial email or even the follow-up. I know they are on tour and might not check email — or maybe that address is not used often.

    If any of our readers know the band, I could probably use some help.

  4. Mark Crawford
    January 18, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I am currently trying to get the ok to openly record Plants&Animals here in Montreal in April, and I am trying to encourage them to get with the whole taping idea. I have been able to get in contact with their manager Gillian and she seems to be at least interested. If you would like to ask her about posting heir show, her email is [email protected]

    Hope this helps.
    jah bless

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.