Final Fantasy: December 1, 2009 Webster Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

December 16, 2009

[photos taken for nyctaper by Kate Ehle – many more here]

John Darnielle of the Mountain Goats has a tremendous knack for selecting instinctually perfectly-matching opening bands for his tours. Recent openers have included John Vanderslice and Kaki King, but for the just-finished tour the immensely talented Canadian artist Owen Pallett was selected. Owen’s solo project Final Fantasy builds each song as a musical mosaic, layering individually played samples of violin, keyboards and effects into his own solo symphony. Like the Mountain Goats, Owen’s lyrics create a little world within each song and use intentionally exaggerated metaphor to convey complex internal emotions often with a satirical edge. While onstage he appears as the proverbial serious musician, its the lighter and off-beat edgier side that makes Owen’s music so interesting. Accompanied on this tour by the guitarist Thomas Gill, Final Fantasy performed an exceptional forty-five minute set at Webster Hall which featured five songs from his much anticipated January release of Heartland.

Final Fantasy returns to NYC to perform at Bowery Ballroom on January 18.

We recorded this set from the same location as the Mountain Goats set, but used the DPA microphones in combination with the stereo soundboard feed to maximize the room feel. This is another outstanding capture of this amazing night of music. Enjoy!

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Final Fantasy
Webster Hall
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 16bit 44.1kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 42:26]
01 [introduction]
02 Keep The Dog Quiet
03 The Great Elsewhere
04 Flare Gun
05 The Butcher
06 He Poos Clouds
07 The CN Tower Belongs To The Dead
08 Independence Is No Solution (The Blankket)
09 Many Lives -> 49 MP
10 Lewis Takes Action
11 Midnight Directives
12 Lewis Takes Off His Shirt

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Final Fantasy, visit the website, visit the MySpace page, and pre-order Heartland (January release) from the Domino Records website [HERE].

3 Responses to Final Fantasy: December 1, 2009 Webster Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. December 16, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks for putting this up, it sounds great (as usual!)

  2. Ingrid
    December 23, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    thanks so much these recordings are excellent :D

  3. lamonti
    January 17, 2010 at 7:48 am

    hey, this is magnificent, as usual.
    anyone know the name of the track playing over the PA during the introduction?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.