Cap’n Jazz: July 25, 2010 Brooklyn Bowl – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

July 29, 2010

[screencap by Ian Perlman]

A day that would end with an excellent set at Maxwell’s did not start out so well for Cap’n Jazz and their fans. We arrived for the JellyNYC Pool Party at Williamsburg Waterfront while the dark clouds were closing in, and a few short minutes later the skies opened up. The move of the rained-out show to Brooklyn Bowl has been well documented and discussed elsewhere, but suffice to say that despite the anecdotal instances of misfortune, the move of this show to the spacious and close-by Bowl saved the day. By the time we arrived at the venue, the house sound crew had nearly completed setting up for the bands. After an incendiary set from No Age (also recorded, coming soon), Cap’n Jazz ripped through fifty minutes of their original material in front of an absolutely insane crowd — the front half of the Bowl’s floor was a total anarchy of bodies and objects. Perhaps due to the nature of the crowd or the craziness of the day, this set is not as tight as the Maxwell’s show, but shares the same energy and enthusiasm from the bands — an excellent bookend to an unforgettable day.

This set was recorded with the Neumann’s mounted at the soundboard area and mixed with a feed from the board. Fortunately, the bowling lanes were empty during this set and the volume of the music drowned out any ambient noise from the venue. The result is another superb capture. Enjoy!

Much thanks to JellyNYC and Tell All Your Friends PR for their many courtesies throughout this hectic day.

Stream “Ooh Do I Love You”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Cap’n Jazz
Brooklyn Bowl
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 52:18]
01 Basil’s Kite
02 [banter]
03 In The Clear
04 Planet Shhh
05 We Are Scientists!
06 Puddle Splashers
07 [banter]
08 Olerud
09 Forget Who We Are
10 [banter]
11 The Sands Have Turned Purple
12 Little League
13 Oh Messy Life
14 Tokyo
15 Ooh Do I Love You
16 [banter]
17 Take On Me
18 [banter]
19 Que Suerte!

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Cap’n Jazz, visit their website, and purchase their complete discography compilation Analphabetapolothology from the Jade Tree Records site [HERE].

One Response to Cap’n Jazz: July 25, 2010 Brooklyn Bowl – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Sample

  1. July 30, 2010 at 10:42 am

    one of my favorite bands, the complete discography collection is top notch too

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.