Built to Spill: October 5, 2010 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Samples

October 15, 2010

[photo by Johnny]

In spite of their extensive touring and the considerable number of gigs they’ve played in the NYC area in recent times, it had been a few years since my last Built to Spill concert and the anticipation for this one was awfully high.  Suffice to say, I wasn’t disappointed; the show that the band put on, along with the songs they chose to play, made it worth the wait.  Beginning with the vibrantly melodic “Traces”, the group pulled tracks from most of their albums, threw in a cover of the Grateful Dead’s “Ripple” and ended with a one-two punch of the often-requested (at least on this night) crowd pleaser “Car” and “Virginia Reel Around the Fountain” from Doug Martsch’s side project, the Halo Benders.  All in all, a wonderful show to reacquaint me with the band after my hiatus.

We taped this show from the dead-center spot on the balcony, right above the soundboard.  Aside from the house mix being a touch bass-heavy in our location, the resultant recording is indicative of the very good to excellent audio that’s typical of this venue and sounds great.  Hope you like what you hear as much as we did.  Enjoy!

Stream “Reasons”:
Stream “Joyride”:

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]
Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If either of the links are no longer working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the files.

Built to Spill
Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY, USA
(opening bands: Love As Laughter / ReVoLtReVoLt)

Source: AUD > AKG C 414 B-XLS’s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > Trader’s Little Helper (check/fix SBE’s, conversion) > FLAC Level 8
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

[Total time: 1:38:54]
01. Traces
02. Reasons
03. Hindsight
04. [tuning]
05. Kicked It in the Sun
06. [banter]
07. Distopian Dream Girl
08. Strange
09. [banter]
10. Life’s a Dream
11. Time Trap
12. Ripple  [Grateful Dead]
13. Joyride
14. [tuning]
15. Else
16. [banter]
17. Carry the Zero
18. [encore break / banter]
19. Stop the Show
20. [tuning]
21. Car
22. Virginia Reel Around the Fountain  [Halo Benders]

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Built to Spill, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases and merchandise.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.