Yo La Tengo: December 5, 2010 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

December 11, 2010

[photo from Ira’s Hanukkah Diary]

I’ll admit to being partial to the noisy and aggressive side of Yo La Tengo’s music. Perhaps due to the presence of Mission of Burma on the bill, or that MOB’s tech wiz Bob Weston participated in the YLT set, but this Sunday night of Hanukkah was the noisiest overall of the eight shows — and also my personal favorite. Early in the set, “Periodically Double or Triple” led directly into “The Room Got Heavy”, for the first energetic noisy segue of the night, but it was the show’s finale that set this night apart. Ira shed some blood (see photo) while switching guitars before the Richard Hell song, but as soon as the punk legend was covered the band ratcheted it up a notch. A ferocious “Drug Test” led into the punk version of “Double Dare” before giving way to the massive “Sugarcube” that finished with a cacophony of feedback, loops and guitar fuzz. “Mushroom Cloud of Hiss” rose out of the chaos and ended the set with more Weston-inspired sheets of sonic bliss. When the crowd caught its breath, the band returned with Mission of Burma and treated us to a mini-set of covers that closed with all six members of the two bands on stage together for an extended version of Dred Foole’s “So Tough” — a 1982 song that featured the three MOB members as “The Din”.

We recorded this set with the DPA 4021’s set up in the standard front right corner spot of the soundboard booth and mixed with an excellent board feed. Acidjack also ran a Schoeps pair, but the synchronization of the six-channel source will take more post-production time. We will work in another version of this recording in the future, but for now this four-track version is still quite superb. Enjoy!

The Mission of Burma set was also recorded and will be featured in the coming days.

Stream “Periodically Double or Triple”:

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Yo La Tengo
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Four Channel Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + DPA 4021s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by
nyctaper and acidjack

[Thanks to Jesse for setlist help]
[Total Time 1:44:39]
01 Green Arrow
02 Evanescent Psychic Pez Drop
03 Flying Lesson (Hot Chicken #1)
04 The Crying of Lot G
05 Periodically Double or Triple
06 The Room Got Heavy
07 [banter]
08 The Empty Pool [Yung Wu]
09 Pablo and Andrea
10 Paul Is Dead
11 Nowhere Is Near
12 [banter]
13 I’m Your Man [Richard Hell]
14 Drug Test
15 Double Dare
16 Sugarcube
17 Mushroom Cloud of Hiss
18 [encore break / loops]
19 Astral Plane [Modern Lovers]
20 [banter]
21 Cover [Volcano Sons]
22 [banter]
23 Ben Wa Baby [Phil Milstein]
24 Frenzy [The Fugs]
25 So Tough [Dredd Foole]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Yo La Tengo, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the store at their website [HERE].

18 Responses to Yo La Tengo: December 5, 2010 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Andrea
    December 11, 2010 at 5:29 am

    Do you record the National opening show too??

  2. Smintjes
    December 11, 2010 at 7:01 am

    THANK YOU Thank you thank you!!!!!

  3. December 11, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Thanks from NC. This is the setlist/guest spot that really jumped out at me when following this Hanukkah run.

  4. December 11, 2010 at 10:40 am

    The National was recorded and will also be posted within the next few days.

  5. Andrea
    December 11, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Thanks so much!!!

  6. Timmay!
    December 11, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I have seen YLT over 50 times, and this show was easily in the Top 5. Can’t wait to listen, thanks!

  7. neil d
    December 11, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Sample sounds great, and can’t wait to hear Weston’s handiwork. Thanks!

  8. Jason
    December 11, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Hey, that’s me on track 19! Thanks for this amazing matrix effort!

  9. paul
    December 12, 2010 at 12:00 am

    can we expect the other shows of the run as well?

  10. Paul C.
    December 12, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Thank you! I was right up front for this and I have to agree with Timmay! Probably the best YLT show I’ve had the privilege to see.

  11. John M
    December 12, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Sounds great, thank you for sharing your YLT recordings.

  12. acidjack
    December 12, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    yes. 12/1, 12/5, 12/6, 12/7 and 12/8 will all be posted

  13. MattP
    December 12, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Thank you!

  14. ??
    December 12, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    will yltfan also be posting his own mixes on dime?

  15. acidjack
    December 12, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    He was at the show recording with different equipment. We don’t know what his plans are.

  16. paul c
    December 13, 2010 at 10:40 am

    not to be a nudge, but 12/2? i was there and really want to get the heroin cover and the extended encore.

  17. Neil
    December 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Pretty sure YLTfan recorded the first five nights, which will eventually show up on DIME once they’ve been through the interstate matrixing process.

    Just listened to this entire show – amazing set, beautiful recording. Wish I could have been there, but this is a close second.

  18. Neil
    December 14, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Whoops, that was an implicit “thanks” but let’s make it explicit: Thanks, nyctaper and acidjack!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.