Magrudergrind: November 27, 2012 St. Vitus – Flac/MP3/Streaming

November 29, 2012

[screen shot from unArtigNYC video here]

When our old friend unArtigNYC saw me setting up at St. Vitus on Tuesday, he gave me one of those “what are you doing here” looks. And rightfully so. The site has been to St. Vitus once, and that was acidjack’s recording of Liturgy from earlier this year. And we’ve never actually covered a real metal show. The question is really why the hell not. St. Vitus is the premiere venue for metal in NYC and its a great place — a well-equipped show room, an excellent bar and terrific staff. When I saw that New Orleans metal vets EyeHateGod were coming to Brooklyn for two shows, I figured it was time to break the ice. Good choice. This show had four excellent bands, each offering a slightly different variation on the metal theme. The third band on the bill immediately before the headliners was the Washington DC/Brooklyn grindcore trio Magrudergrind. This was a high-octane politically-themed amalgamation of speed, metal and what we used to call “hardcore” back in the day. And it was 15 songs in 22 minutes of awesome. Magrudergrind is playing again in December out in Copiague on Long Island, and after that their next official date is in 2013. See them if you can.

I recorded this set with the Sennheisers mounted very high back near the soundboard corner. The room was heavy in guitar, but when mixed with a vocal and drum heavy soundboard, the balance is just right. This is a superb recording, and we give much credit to the excellent FOH at St. Vitus. Enjoy!

Stream “The Protocols of Anti-Music”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

St. Vitus
Brooklyn, NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser 8040 Cardioids > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper 2012-11-28

[Total Time 22:41]
01 Heretics
02 Conditioned Minds
03 Pulverized Hate Mongers
04 Lyrical Ammunition for Scene Warfare
05 Stagnant
06 Rise and Fall of Empires Past
07 Fuck Nazi Sympathy [Aus Rotten]
08 Leech
09 The Price of Living By Delinquent Ideals
10 Burden
11 Rehashed
12 Heaviest Bombing
13 Layer of Waste
14 Excommunicated
15 The Protocols of Anti-Sound

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Magrudergrind, visit their Facebook page, and purchase their self-titled album from Willowtip Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.