Posts Tagged ‘ Ireland ’

Jeff Tweedy: January 30, 2018 Vicar Street Dublin Ireland

April 15, 2018

[photo by Joe Koyote]

Jeff Tweedy is in the midst of a short solo tour that finds him roving through Canada and which ends with a show at Princeton University.. Jeff will return to the NYC area in June for two dates as part of the Clearwater Festival up in Croton. But earlier this year, Tweedy traveled through Europe including a special night at Vicar Street in Dublin as the opening night of the tour. Friend of the site Joe was there to capture the Dublin show, a night filled with many classic favorites and much banter and fan interaction, but which is most noteworthy as the live premiere of the new Jeff Tweedy composition “Don’t Forget We All Think About Dying”. The song has been played a handful of time since Dublin, including once on the current tour, but Joe’s recording is the song’s world premiere.

Joe recorded this set with portable microphones from the front and center of the balcony. The quiet acoustic music and the generous crowd participation created some serious editing issues, but overall this is a quality listen. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream debut performance of “Don’t Forget We All Think About Dying”:

Jeff Tweedy
Vicar Street
Dublin Ireland

Audience Master
Recorded from Front Row Center Balcony

Sony ECM-MS907 > Sony PCM-M10 [LCF+Limiter] > 24bit-48k WAV > Soundforge (Post-Production) > CD Wave > TLH (320 mp3 via Foobar)

Recorded by Joe Koyote
Producted by NYCTaper

[Total Time: 1:31:17)
01 Via Chicago
02 I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
03 Bombs Above
04 [banter – encouragement]
05 We’ve Been Had
06 Passenger Side
07 Locator
08 Hummingbird
09 [banter – appreciation]
10 Lost Love
11 Born Alone
12 Noah’s Flood (Let’s Go Rain Again)
13 New Madrid
14 One Wing
15 Bull Black Nova
16 Laminated Cat
17 [banter – CSNY story]
18 Don’t Forget We All Think About Dying
19 [banter – funk]
20 Hesitating Beauty
21 Jesus Etc
22 [encore break]
23 I’m the Man Who Loves You
24 California Stars
25 Kamera
26 A Shot in the Arm

SUPPORT Jeff Tweedy: Website | Tour Dates

Cian Nugent: March 9, 2016 Union Pool

March 14, 2016


With his brand new album Night Fiction, the Irish guitarist Cian Nugent has followed in the footsteps of some of his other guitar proteges. That is, without abandoning the intricate guitar sound that brought us in to begin with, he’s also stepped to the mic as vocalist in a full band. This was Nugent’s first U.S. tour in that capacity, and the Union Pool crowd knew it, stuffing the place to the gills on a warm Wednesday night. With a crack band that includes Ryan Jewell (also of Ryley Walker’s regular outfit, among others) and Conor Lumsden, Nugent delved straight into the new material with a stirring “First Run,” one of the bluesier rock numbers in his new repertoire. As another review put it, Nugent didn’t exactly need to “find his voice,” but his new turn as a singer nonetheless felt assured. Things took a contemplative turn mid-set with the unhurried “Things Don’t Change That Fast,” one of the album’s centerpiece tracks, followed by the like-minded “Shadows.”

But if you thought Nugent was going down on a somber note, I hope you didn’t miss the show’s piece de resistance, with a surprise visit from Steve Gunn on the fifteen-minute album boogie monster “Year of the Snake.” Conjuring the magic of the stunning Desert Heat show we captured a few years ago, Gunn and Nugent traded riffs like the longtime collaborators they are, with both clearly feeling the energy of the room and the night. It was an absolute barnstormer of a song, with the two players so far in the zone you almost hoped it wouldn’t end. Cian will be back in town on April 9 at Alphaville — be sure to see him there.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK5 cardiod microphones and a soundboard feed from Union Pool engineer Robert. The sound quality is outstanding. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC]

Stream the show (minus banter):

Cian Nugent
Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK5 (A-B, DFC, at SBD) + Soundboard (engineer: Robert)>>Zoom F8>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, adjust balance of SBD, adjust levels)>Izotope Ozone 5 (effects, EQ)>Audacity 2.0.5 (track, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [intro]
02 First Run
03 [banter1]
04 Lost Your Way
05 [banter2]
06 Things Don’t Change That Fast
07 Shadows
08 [banter3]
09 Year of the Snake *

* with Steve Gunn on guitar

If you enjoyed this recording, check out Cian Nugent on Facebook, and buy Night Fiction from Woodsist.


Cian Nugent: February 19, 2014 Union Pool – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

February 25, 2014

[Photo by acidjack]

I first saw Cian Nugent live last September at Hopscotch Music Festival, where we had the pleasure of seeing multiple sides of him both as a solo artist and with his “supergroup” Desert Heat. To date, the Irish guitarist hasn’t played regularly in the U.S., so there was no way I was going to miss him supporting fantastic new album at Union Pool. Here, the faithful were rewarded with Nugent working through solo versions of several standout tracks from his latest, Born With The Caul, as well as material from the seven inch release “Hire Purchase”, the only electric number of the night. The Wednesday night crowd rewarded Cian’s focus and concentration with an ample amount of their own, turning this sometimes-raucous room into a reverent space. With any luck, the reception from this tour will bring Nugent back to New York more frequently. This great artist’s catalog has much more ground to cover, as Pitchfork so presciently observed in a Marc Masters/Grayson Currin “Out Door” post recently.

I recorded this set with a soundboard feed provided by Union Pool’s head engineer Ian MacCarthy, together with Schoeps MK41 microphones to provide mild room ambiance. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Double Horse”

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Cian Nugent
Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard (engineer: Ian MacCarthy) + Schoeps MK41 (A-B, PAS)>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (effects, align, mixdown)>Izotope Ozone 5 (effects, EQ)>Audacity 2.0.3 (fades, tracking, dither, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [intro]
02 The Ceremony
03 [banter – long story]
04 Grass Above My Head
05 [banter2]
06 Hire Purchase
07 [banter3]
08 Double Horse

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Cian Nugent, like him on Facebook, and purchase Born With the Caul directly from No Quarter Records.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.