Posts Tagged ‘ No Depression ’

Son Volt: April 7, 2017 Bowery Ballroom

April 16, 2017

[photo by Joe Kelly]

Son Volt is currently on tour in support of their new album Notes of Blue, the band’s ninth record in more than twenty years of work. Despite the early years as torch-carriers for the alt-country/No Depression movement, Son Volt has built a career on solid roots/Americana rock. Like band leader Jay Farrar, there’s nothing particularly flashy about the group, they’re just built on a consistent foundation of high quality music. The new album continues in that vein, if not a tad bit more focused on the “roots” sound more representative of the Son Volt’s recent output.

The Son Volt tour came through NYC last week for a few local dates, and we were fortunate to attend the Bowery Ballroom show which sold out months ago. Like the band, the fans of this band are consistent and faithful — members of our group for the Bowery night came from Ireland, Boston and Missouri to see this show. And the band did not disappoint. After the early set concentrated heavily on Blue material, Son Volt delivered a twenty-six song show with a setlist pulled democratically from all eras of the band. Indeed there were three Uncle Tupelo songs in the encore set, and the night ended with Keith Richards penned Stones cover. Son Volt will be on tour throughout the next two months mostly in the West and Midwest, dates here.

I recorded this set with room mics only, running the Schoeps from our traditional spot in the front center of the balcony. The sound quality reflects the show experience — excellent quality sound supplemented by some feisty fans. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show:

Son Volt
Bowery Ballroom
New York NY

Digital Master Audience Recording
Recorded at Soundboard Booth

Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:39:26]
01 Cherokee St
02 Lost Souls
03 Buzz and Grind
04 Static
05 Damn Shame
06 The Picture
07 Dynamite
08 Tear-Stained Eye
09 Midnight
10 Sinking Down
11 Back Into Your World
12 Catching On
13 Cairo and Southern
14 Ten Second News
15 Promise the World
16 [band introductions]
17 Back Against the Wall
18 Bandages and Scars
19 Driving the View
20 Route
21 Drown
22 Afterglow 61
23 [encore break]
24 Still Be Around
25 Windfall
26 Graveyard Shift
27 Chickamauga
28 [second encore break]
29 Happy [Rolling Stones]

PLEASE SUPPORT Son Volt, visit their website, and purchase Notes of Blue and other official releases directly from the Official Son Volt store [HERE].

Wilco: October 28, 2014 Capitol Theatre – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Set

October 29, 2014

[photos by acidjack]

Wilco, themselves the spawn of the No Depression greats Uncle Tupelo, are touring to celebrate their twentieth year as a band. Look around at acts of their longevity, and you tend to see one of two things: strict and competent adherence to a winning formula (Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam) or aggressive experimentation and reinvention (Radiohead). Wilco may claim to do both — there’s a straight line from the rock n’ roll stomp of a song like A.M>‘s “Casino Queen” (the second to last song of the night) to a song like “Wilco (The Song”), which opened the night. But there is also that seismic shift to point to that began on Being There and solidified on Yankee Hotel Foxtrot which catapulted the band beyond their existing limits into the realm of something special. The kind of band that, in gracing the renewed Capitol Theatre for the first time, belongs firmly in the first rank of bands that made that place famous.

This set was, if one can call it such, the usual harassment of riches from this band — two hours and twenty minutes long, 30 songs, and many old and underplayed favorites. “Casino Queen” joined Doug Sahm’s “Give Me Back the Key To My Heart” and “Too Far Apart” in a semi-amplified acoustic set that closed the evening, and early material (and a fair number of ballads) was the rule for much of the night. “Hummingbird” found touring guitarist Nels Cline on a tear that left Tweedy to say “I don’t think you’ll hear it like that ever again”. The beauty of this band is that even with three nights of shows in the same venue (all of which we are covering), you’ll never hear something the same way again.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK5 and an MK8 microphone in the “mid-side” configuration to maximize control over reverberation and crowd noise. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]
Permanent Links if the above is not working: [MP3]
/ [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:


Capitol Theatre
Port Chester, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK5c+MK8 (M-S, at SBD, slightly ROC)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices USBPre2>Sony PCM-D50>24bit/48kHz WAV>Voxengo MSED (decode M-S)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (adjust levels, fades, compression)>Izotope Ozone 5 (light EQ, light effects)>Audacity 2.0.5 (tracking, fades, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 2:22:15]

01 Wilco (The Song)
02 I Must Be High
03 You Are My Face
04 Shouldn’t Be Ashamed
05 At Least That’s What You Said
06 Handshake Drugs
07 Side With the Seeds
08 Promising
09 Sunken Treasure
10 Reservations
11 Muzzle of Bees
12 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
13 [banter]
14 She’s A Jar
15 War on War
16 Magazine Called Sunset
17 Hummingbird
18 On and On and On
19 How to Fight Loneliness
20 Kamera
21 [banter2]
22 Country Disappeared
23 Hate It Here
24 Theologians
25 Monday
26 Dawned On Me
27 Shot In the Arm
28 [encore break]
29 Kingpin
30 I’m A Wheel
31 [encore break 2]
32 Too Far Apart*
33 Casino Queen *
34 Give Me Back the Key To My Heart [Doug Sahm]*

* performed semi-amplified

If you download this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, and purchase their official releases at their website [HERE].


Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.