Posts Tagged ‘ Obits ’

SAVAK: January 22, 2016 Union Pool

February 17, 2016


It was sad news last year when Obits announced their dissolution. Fortunately we were there for their second-to-last NYC performance, at Brooklyn Night Bazaar back in November 2014. It goes without saying that Obits will be missed. However, Obits alums Sohrab Habibion (also ex-Edsel) and Greg Simpson weren’t quiet for very long. Only a month after that announcement, Habibion and Simpson debuted their new band, SAVAK, having recruited a veritable who’s-who of nineties and aughts indie rock: Michael Jaworski (The Cops, Virgin Islands); James Canty (The Make-Up, Nation of Ulysses); and Matt Schulz (Enon, Holy Fuck); plus Greg Vegas (Hat City Intuitive, Monsterland) guesting on saxophone. SAVAK recently completed the recording of Best of Luck in Future Endeavors, which will be released on Comedy Minus One in late May. I conned my way into a sneak preview of the mastered album—why else tape shows if not for the graft?—and I assure you, this one’s a keeper.

In anticipation of the upcoming record, we made it out for a snowy evening with SAVAK at Union Pool where we were treated to a performance of much of the Best of Luck in Future Endeavors, plus a cover of MDC’s “I Remember.” If I were to make comparisons I’d feel pretty confident making the obvious one to Sohrab Habibion’s classic nineties band Edsel. Additionally, SAVAK channels I.R.S.-era R.E.M., especially on the standout track “Reaction.” The rest of the set will have you shaking in your desk chair in no time, so let this tide you over until the album release.

SAVAK’s next scheduled show is at the Bell House on May 11, with Kid Congo Powers & The Pink Monkeybirds. Tickets are on sale.

I recorded this set from our usual location at Union Pool, the room mics combined with a board feed from FOH Robert. I mixed those down and then Sohrab provided some additional mastering. The results are excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3/FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Union Pool
Brooklyn, NY

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by Eric PH
Mastered by Sohrab Habibion

Soundboard (engineer: Robert) + AKG C480B/CK61 > Roland R-26 > 2xWAV (24/48) > Adobe Audition CC (align, balance, compression, mixdown, normalize, fades) > Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ) > Mastering > Audacity 2.0.5 (downsample, dither, tracking, tagging) > FLAC (16/44.1, level 8)

Tracks [37:27]
01. Split Decision
02. Alive in Shadows
03. They Are Bones
04. Reaction
05. This Currency Exchanged
06. Elapsed Remaining
07. Drop the Pieces
08. Sick of War
09. Early Western Traders
10. Call It a Night
11. I Remember [MDC]

Support SAVAK: Website | Facebook | Comedy Minus One

Obits: November 22, 2014 Brooklyn Night Bazaar – FLAC/MP3/Full Set Streaming

January 22, 2015

[photos by acidjack]

We pointed out in a review of Obits four years ago that “there is something universal about Obits’ gritty garage guitar roots-rock, and when its delivered by four pros with impressive veteran resumes” and indeed, that was brought home at the Brooklyn Night Bazaar as the band closed, rather than opened (as in that old review), a show stacked with impressive bands (three of which have been posted so far). Obits do promise the musicianship of grizzled vets while maintaining the devil-may-care attitude that defines their genre. This show surveyed all of the band’s recent catalog, capping with an absolutely awesome cover of Willie Nelson’s “Milk Cow Blues”. Lucky for everyone involved, the bazaar’s attendees knew that artisanal scarves and handmade jewelry were the wrong thing to focus on during this set. A rock show like this demands attention, and it earned it.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the Survival Knife recording. While the room presented some challenges, the sound is still quite good. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show:

Brooklyn Night Bazaar
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Soundboard w/ onstage mics (engineer: Kenny) + Schoeps MK41 (LOC, PAS)>KCY>Z-PFA>Sound Devices USBPre2>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, limiter)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter, imaging)>Audacity 2.0.5 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 [inro]
02 One Cross Apiece
03 No Fly List
04 Run
05 Everything Looks Better In the Sun
06 It’s Sick
07 Operation Bikini
08 Two-Headed Coin
09 Killer
10 Lilies In the Street
11 Spun Out
12 Refund
13 Widow of My Dreams
14 [banter]
15 Milk Cow Blues [Willie Nelson]

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Obits, visit their website, and buy their records at their online repository.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.