Posts Tagged ‘ Providence ’

Downtown Boys: June 24, 2016 Market Hotel

July 18, 2016

[photo by Chona Kasinger – originally posted at Bandcamp Daily]

Its been a very discouraging year for forward-looking people. Tonight begins the tacky celebration of the nomination of a vulgar racist xenophobe of a major political party for President of the United States. Its as if for the next three days, forty percent of the country will be giving a massive middle finger to people of color, and anyone with a conscience and a sense of justice feels helpless.

The question then becomes what can we do. If you’re a group of young multicultural people from Providence Rhode Island, you form a punk band with a message — that hatred and xenophobia are things of the past and we, a “bi bilingual political dance sax punk party” are here, and we are the future. Downtown Boys are certainly a breath of fresh air in this toxic world. The band’s themes of inclusion and acceptance within the realm of punk (with a sax!) isn’t particularly a new idea, but add in bi-lingual lyrics and LGBT elements, and the idea of the perfectly integrated musical act becomes closer to realization. That the band executes their message with energy and commitment makes their music all the more compelling.

The Downtown Boys show at Market Hotel was one of those nights that won’t soon be forgotten. The band’s increased popularity brought out a truly diverse crowd, and given the Market’s goal of providing a community of musical performances of diverse styles and backgrounds, the band represented an inspiring coupling of ideals. In 2015 Downtown Boys signed with the most excellent Don Giovanni Records and released Full Communism to universally positive reviews. Its an encouraging development for the band that their call for human rights is reaching a larger and more accepting audience. At the Market, the set saw the performance of most of Full Communism, a few older tracks, and what I believe are six new songs that hopefully portends a 2016/2017 new album from Downtown Boys.

Downtown Boys return to NYC for a show at Studio at Webster Hall on September 16.

I recorded this set with the installed AT mics mixed with an excellent board feed. The sound is live and raucous and in the moment and totally excellent. Enjoy!

Download Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show:

Downtown Boys
Market Hotel
Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Upfront Audience

Soundboard [Engineer: Jason Kelly] + Audio Technica 4051 > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 52:08]
01 Future Police
02 Haz Algo
03 Wave of History
04 Tonta
05 One Hundred Percent Inheritance Tax
06 Santa
07 Maldito
08 [Poder intro]
09 Poder Elegir [Los Prisioneros]
10 Callate
11 It Can’t Wait
12 Slumlord Sal
13 [banter – power]
14 Clara
15 Lola
16 Dancing In The Dark [Springsteen]
17 Cost of Living
18 [banter – thanks]
19 Break A Few Eggs
20 Monstro

Support Downtown Boys: Bandcamp | Facebook | Don Giovanni Records Page

Math the Band: January 4, 2013 Glasslands – Flac/MP3/Streaming

January 8, 2013

Math The Band Glasslands
[photo by nyctaper]

When I first saw Math the Band, in an opening slot for Anamanaguchi at Music Hall a couple of years ago, I knew I would have to see them and record them again. That 2011 recording was just not high enough quality to post, and it frankly failed to capture the crazy energy of the performance. Friday night at Glasslands, that energy was on display again and thankfully the stars aligned to produce a faithful recording of their fun and crazy set. Math the Band has been around for a decade and they are part of the groundbreaking Providence RI art collective AS220, but the duo performs with a kind of unselfconscious elation that would be typical of a brand new band finding their footing. The Glasslands show was short and sweet, a less than 30 minute run through much of their new album Get Real and a few chosen older nuggets. While the band certainly makes abundant use of the chiptune style keyboard, the songwriting shows influences of oldies like Dead Milkmen. And like their predecessors, the live show is a hoot — a smile-inducing experience that ends too soon and leaves us wanting more. Math the Band will be touring throughout January on the East Coast, dates are here.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser Cards mounted in the middle of Glasslands and mixed with an excellent board feed from house FOH Josh. The sound is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Why didn’t you get a haircut”:

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Math the Band
Glasslands Gallery
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 27:57]
01 Mission Statement
02 Hang out Hang ten
03 Bad Jokes
04 [banter]
05 Hey Alright
06 Stay Real (Sock it to me Satan)
07 Sad Son
08 Wear Wolf Fever
09 Four to Six
10 Why didn’t you get a haircut
11 Down
12 Tour de Friends

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Math the Band, visit their website, and purchase Get Real from Anchor Brain Store [HERE] or from the Math the Band Bandcamp page [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.