Posts Tagged ‘ Radiohead ’

Phish: August 4, 2017 Madison Square Garden

August 5, 2017

Phish did it again last night. On the 11th night of the historic Baker’s Dozen shows at Madison Square Garden, this one themed on a Lemon donut, the band again delivered a unique set of breakouts, first-time covers, and surprisingly placed jams. You could excuse Phish for maybe missing the mark once on this run, but its clear that every single show has been an all-timer and this is why we continue to insist that this a bellwether stand for the band.

Last night’s set opened with a first-time cover of the blues standard “See That My Grave is Kept Clean” or “One Kind Favor”, performed by a litany of artists but first attributed to Blind Lemon (get it?) Jefferson. The set also featured stand-out performances of not-classics “Ocelot” and “Winterqueen”, two songs of recent vintage that got the full jam treatment at this show. The set finale of “First Tube” was truly remarkable, an intensely jammed version that ended with Trey literally waving his guitar around above his head in some sort of feedback devotional ritual.

The second set started off slowly with a puzzling silly acapella “Dem Bones” but quickly moved into jam mode. “No Man’s Land” is another new-y that got some peak extended play, before unfinished it quietly segued into a song that had some heads scratching and phones clicking. Radiohead’s “Everything In Its Right Place” fit the theme (“sucking a lemon”) but certainly seemed like “worlds colliding” of musical genres. But the band did a bang-up job on the number — if a bit spacier than the original. Moving forward, a sample of the “sucking a lemon” vocals would continue to pop up during the set. Phish continued this strong set with a “Scent and Subtle Sounds” which not only reached jammy peaks but also contained a neatly interposed reprise of “No Man’s Land” tucked into the jam. The set ended with crowd-favorites “Prince Caspian” and a now-infrequent visit with “Fluffhead” before the band returned with a non-unfamiliar cover of the Edgar Winter Group’s classic “Frankenstein”.

This was my own personal final show of this run — acidjack is scheduled to capture tonight’s show — but I have to remark that this was all-in-all clearly the highlight of my lengthy but limited relationship with Phish. I suspect its also a highlight of the long-time and truly dedicated Phishheads, and that’s saying something.

I recorded this show from the dead center area of the taper’s section on the rail behind the video cage. The sound in the venue was extraordinary this night and our centered position was advantageous. As a result, the sound quality is superb and I believe this is my best sounding recording of the three shows I attended. Enjoy!

Download The Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show:

Madison Square Garden
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Sixth Row Center Tapers Section

Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 24bit 48kHz wav > Soundforge (post production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

Set 1
[Total Time 1:09:49]
01 See That My Grave Is Kept Clean [Blind Lemon Jefferson]
02 Punch You in the Eye
03 Party Time
04 Big Black Furry Creature From Mars
05 Dinner and a Movie
06 Ocelot
07 Poor Heart
08 Winterqueen
09 Bold as Love [Hendrix]
10 First Tube

Set 2:
[Total Time 1:24:19]
11 Dem Bones
12 No Men in No Man’s Land
13 Everything in Its Right Place [Radiohead]
14 What’s the Use
15 Scents and Subtle Sounds*
16 Prince Caspian
17 Fluffhead
18 [encore break]
19 Frankenstein [Edgar Winter]

*with No Man’s Land Reprise

SUPPORT Phish: Website | Store

Gov’t Mule: June 7, 2014 Mountain Jam (Hunter, NY)

June 13, 2014

[photo from this post at]

Guitarist Warren Haynes is a busy man, playing in multiple iterations of Grateful Dead-related bands (including the recent Phil Lesh and Friends that we documented), The Allman Brothers, and of course, Gov’t Mule. On top of all that, Warren continues to play an integral role in the Mountain Jam festival that he founded, where Mule can be counted on for a spectacle of a Saturday set. This year’s version was three and half hours of guitar pyrotechnics and a host of especially inspired covers. Along with an encore of three consecutive Doors songs, we got to see Mule’s version of the song that made Radiohead famous, “Creep”. Even if Haynes’ vocals and persona don’t convey the sense of self-loathing and alienation that Thom Yorke does so effortlessly, Mule’s version was nonetheless a notable one. The set also echoed recent Mule Mountain Jam successes, with a fiery rendition of “Brighter Days”, which kicked off Mountain Jam VIII (that set here), and last year’s set opener, “Broke Down On the Brazos” (that set here). As is also a Mule tradition, the band was joined by a slew of special guests, including Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi, who played their own set just before this one, along with Jackie Greene and Soulive’s Eric Krasno. No Mountain Jam is complete without the Mule, and this one was yet another winner.

I recorded this set with MBHO microphones and an extra-warm Aerco custom preamp. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [MP3] (permanent link – use if first one is not working) | [FLAC]

Stream “Creep” [Radiohead]

Stream “Brighter Days”

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct download links or the files on other sites without our permission. Feel free to re-post the Soundcloud links. Please respect our request.

Gov’t Mule
Mountain Jam X (West Stage)
Hunter, NY USA

Hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

MBHO KA200N/MBP603>Aerco MP-2>Sony PCM-M10>24bit/44.1kHz WAV>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, effects, M/S compression)>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (adjust levels, multiband compression, fades)>Audacity 2.0.3 (track, amplify, balance, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 3:29:11]
Set One
01 World Boss>
02 Steppin’ Lightly
03 Inside Outside Woman Blues #3
04 Trane
05 Eternity’s Breath
06 St. Stephen (instrumental) [Mahavishnu Orchestra]
07 Beautifully Broken>
08 Breakdown> [Tom Petty]
09 Beautifully Broken
10 Whisper In Your Soul
11 Banks of the Deep End
12 Stratus [Billy Cobham] *
13 Game Face
14 Stoop So Low
15 Since I’ve Been Loving You [Led Zeppelin]

Set Two
01 Mule
02 Tell Me Something Good # [Rufus & Chaka Khan]
03 Funny Little Tragedy
04 Which Way Do We Run
05 Brighter Days
06 Soulshine
07 Creep [Radiohead]
08 Sugaree [Jerry Garcia] %
09 Sometimes Salvation [Black Crowes] %
10 Broke Down on the Brazos>
11 Tributary Jam
12 [encore break]
13 People Are Strange [The Doors]
14 Five To One [The Doors]
15 Break On Through (To the Other Side) [The Doors]

* with Derek Trucks
# with Eric Krasno, Susan Tedeschi, and Kofi Burbridge
% with Jackie Greene

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Gov’t Mule, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Mule Store [HERE].


Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.