Built to Spill: October 14, 2009 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

October 16, 2009

[photo courtesy of David Wells]

The four-show Built to Spill NYC tour moved to Brooklyn on Wednesday and brought along another varied setlist. After Monday’s hit-heavy show and Tuesday’s time trip to the 90’s, Wednesday in Brooklyn was guitar night. As Doug’s lead instrument was dominant in the house mix, the audience could literally ride every trip up and down the fretboard — and there were many. From the classic opener “Three Years Ago Today”, the raging “In Your Mind”, and to the set closer “Carry The Zero”, Doug inventive and heady solos were front and center. While we would have preferred the lengthy jammed out version of “Randy” in the encore slot — this version was only four minutes — the band chose to use the show-closing nine-minute “Goin’ Against Your Mind” to stretch out.

I recorded this set from the front center rail of the balcony with the four microphone rig. The sound quality of the instruments is quite spectacular. However, the vocals are again buried in the mix — which given the guitar-oriented nature of this band and this show in particular is probably not a major impediment to enjoyment!

Last night (Oct 15) was also recorded and will be posted very soon.

Direct download of MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Built to Spill
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Four-Track Digital Master Recording
Recorded from Center Balcony Rail

Neumann KM-150s + DPA 4021’s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:32:33]
01 Three Years Ago Today
02 In The Morning
03 Strange
04 Life’s A Dream
05 Distopian Dream Girl
06 Done
07 Wherever You Go
08 Nowhere Lullaby
09 In Your Mind
10 Planting Seeds
11 Alarmed
12 Carry The Zero
13 [encore break]
14 Randy Described Eternity
15 Car
16 Goin’ Against Your Mind

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Built To Spill, visit their website, visit their MySpace page, and purchase their official releases from the Official Store at their website [Here].

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Built to Spill: October 14, 2009 Music Hall – Flac and MP3 Downloads

  1. Seth from GA
    October 16, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I can’t say enough just how much I appreciate this

  2. Bart from Belgium
    October 16, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Words can ‘t describe how thankful I am for this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.