Melvins: June 7, 2011 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

June 15, 2011

[Photos courtesy of Dana (distortion) Yavin.  See more of her excellent work HERE.]

After the previous night’s epic tooth-rattling concert featuring the ‘Eggnog‘, ‘Lysol‘ and ‘Houdini‘ albums, I was wondering what the response would be to this nights playing of ‘Bullhead‘ and ‘Stoner Witch‘.  Two great records that bookend the other three, they are generally lesser known by the masses but equally crucial to the Melvins catalog.  I needn’t have worried as the crowd seemed to build on the intensity that began the night before.  The band’s no nonsense approach didn’t stray from the track listings of the two discs, but their intense live renditions will never be mistaken for the studio versions.  Anything but workman-like, the Melvins imbued new life and twists into these songs.  Among others, this included the set-enders: extended opus, “Boris”, and the night’s closer, “Shevil”, which gave Dale Crover and Coady Willis a jumping off point for a 12 minute drum workout.  Joined by skinsman Vinny Signorelli from Brooklyn-based Unsane, thunder pealed through the venue and left many attendees with their ears pleasantly ringing.

Set up in the dead-center spot on the balcony, the resultant recording is excellent and surprisingly clear considering the sheer volume in the venue; a testament to the engineer’s skills and how good the P.A. is in the Music Hall of Williamsburg.  That said, if you like heavy low-end, this recording is for you.  Enjoy and PLAY IT LOUD!!

Stream “It’s Shoved”:
Stream “Queen”:

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]
Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If either of the links are no longer working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the files.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Source: AUD > AKG C 414 B-XLS’s + Audio-Technica AT3031’s > Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > TLH (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC conversion) > FLAC ( level 8 )
Recorded and produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

1st SET: ‘Bullhead
[Total time: 37:11]
01. intro (Blazing Saddles theme)
02. Ligature
03. It’s Shoved
04. If I Had an Exorcism
05. Zodiac
06. Anaconda
07. Cow
08. Your Blessened
09. Boris

2nd SET: ‘Stoner Witch
[Total time: 58:16]
10. intro (The Great Escape theme)
11. Lividity
12. Skweetis
13. Sweet Willy Rollbar
14. Revolve
15. June Bug
16. Roadbull
17. Goose Freight Train
18. Queen
19. At the Stake
20. Magic Pig Detective
21. Shevil > drums

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Melvins, visit their website, visit their MySpace and Facebook pages, and purchase their official releases and merchandise [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Melvins: June 7, 2011 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC / MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. t
    June 15, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    thank you johnny fried chicken boy/nyctaper, much appreciated indeed!

  2. Julian
    June 15, 2011 at 4:43 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.