Wilco: September 23, 2011 Central Park Summerstage – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

September 27, 2011

[Photo courtesy of wagz2it]

Whereas the previous evening we saw the damp weather held at bay, for Wilco’s second night at Central Park’s Summerstage the band and attendees weren’t quite as lucky.  All parties took it in stride and the crowd, despite the rain or maybe because of it, seemed particularly enthusiastic.  Once again pulling a lion’s share of tracks from the new album, The Whole Love (which has its official release today), we were also treated to crowd-pleasers “Passenger Side”, “Impossible Germany” and “Heavy Metal Drummer”, and wonderful takes on live staples “Bull Black Nova”, “Misunderstood” and “Jesus, Etc.”, which Jeff Tweedy dedicated to us.  With all the good stuff going on stage, Wilco made it pretty easy to forget about the drizzle on our heads.

As with the night before, the entire NYCTaper crew made it out for the concert.  Paring down our rig considerably due to the inclement weather, we were still able to get an excellent recording and hope you like what you hear as much as we did.  Enjoy!

Stream “Bull Black Nova”:

Stream “Dawned on Me”:

Direct download of the complete show in MP3 [HERE]

Direct download of the complete show in FLAC [HERE]

If the FLAC link is no longer working, email nyctaper with a request for the download location of the FLAC files.

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense.  The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission.  Please respect our request.

Friday, September 23, 2011
Rumsey Playfield
Central Park Summerstage
New York, NY, USA

Source: AUD > Audio-Technica AT3031’s + DPA 4061’s > Church Audio CA9200 > Edirol R-44 [Oade Concert Mod] >> Edirol R-44 (WAV @ 24-bit/48kHz)
Lineage: R-44 > USB > PC > Adobe Audition (mixdown, adjust levels, downsample, dither, tracking) > WAV (16-bit/44.1kHz) > Trader’s Little Helper (check/fix SBE’s, FLAC) > FLAC Level 8
Recorded by: acidjack and Johnny Fried Chicken Boy
Produced by: Johnny Fried Chicken Boy

[Total time: 2:07:00]
01. One Sunday Morning (Song for Jane Smiley’s Boyfriend)
02. Art of Almost
03. I Might
04. Poor Places
05. Bull Black Nova
06. I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
07. Pot Kettle Black
08. Impossible Germany
09. Black Moon
10. California Stars  [lyrics by Woody Guthrie]
11. Born Alone
12. Handshake Drugs
13. Heavy Metal Drummer
14. Whole Love
15. Standing O
16. Passenger Side
17. Dawned on Me
18. A Shot in the Arm
19. encore break
20. Misunderstood
21. banter / dedication
22. Jesus, Etc.
23. Walken
24. I’m the Man Who Loves You
25. Red-Eyed and Blue
26. I Got You (At the End of the Century)

If you download this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Wilco, visit their website, visit their Facebook and MySpace pages, and purchase their official releases (including new release, The Whole Love) and merchandise [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to Wilco: September 23, 2011 Central Park Summerstage – FLAC and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. September 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Thank you thank you!

  2. September 27, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    so glad that you made it to this show as well. i was there and when i turned around to leave, i think i saw your rig on a mic stand with an umbrella! i was hoping that with Wilco’s open policy on recording shows that someone would have captured this. thank you!

  3. Kyle
    September 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Great stuff, was one of the best Wilco shows I’ve seen, amazing setlist, thanks!

  4. Joe
    September 28, 2011 at 10:12 am

    Indeed, despite the weather it was Friday night in Central Park with one of America’s great treasures. People’s enthusiasm was high. Thank you very much for all your efforts, the samples sound very nice. I’m looking forward to putting them to the harmon/kardon & polk audio twin towers.

  5. bill
    September 28, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Yay! Thanks guys! You rock. Such a good show. Got a little teary during Jesus, etc.

  6. September 28, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    after downloading this and finally listening to it last night, i was really blown away by the quality of the sound. really crisp and a wonderful addition to my WILCO collection.

  7. Dan
    September 28, 2011 at 2:42 pm


  8. Blureu
    September 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Johnny Fried Chicken Boy? Huh?

  9. acidjack
    September 28, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    It’s a nickname he earned…. None of the rest of us know the story….

  10. Keith
    September 29, 2011 at 3:26 am

    thanks for taping and sharing this show.

    An excellent recording.

  11. Hersche1
    September 29, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Thanks guys. Great show, great tape. Who can remember how wet it was that night.

  12. herb
    September 30, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Wilco played in the rain on a night when both the Yankees and the Mets couldn’t/wouldn’t/didn’t.
    Drenched to the bone and LOVED it!
    The show must & will go on!
    Thank you Wilco.
    Thank you Dan & NYC Taper crew.
    ‘sic ’em on a chicken! Like my chicken fried & cold beer on a friday night!!

  13. Robinbrevard
    September 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks a lot; judging by the comments, this is one to keep & enjoy!


  14. Kitty
    September 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    THANK YOU FOR THIS!!! I was at both nights- and found Fridays performance stronger ( though believe me, I LOVED both! ) You can bet I am an avid Wilco fan and supporter! BIG THANKS to THEM for allowing this!

  15. October 1, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Thanks again to the NYC Taper team for yet another great Wilco show. They were great when they visited our little hamlet here in Georgia too.

  16. kazuhiro Nakajima
    October 2, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Thank you.

  17. Laurence
    October 23, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    thank you so much for the recordings. unfortunately I was unable to attend but listening to these recordings it is almost like I was there.

    just wondering if you have a recording of wilco from summerstage 6/27/2003?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.