Diane Cluck: September 20, 2019 Trans-Pecos

October 18, 2019

These days, Diane Cluck performs in NYC about once every eighteen months or so. Her last appearance in NY was in May of 2018 where she was backed into a late show and as a result her set that night was somewhat truncated. When we booked Diane for this year’s show at Trans-Pecos, there were no such limitations and this performance was undoubtedly the longest Diane Cluck show we’ve ever seen.

At Pecos last month, Diane was relaxed, playful, in good spirits, and thoroughly engaging. The set clocks in well over 90 minutes and the show contains plenty of banter, accepted requests, give and take with the engaged crowd, and two encores. Early in the set, Diane played tribute to her friend David Berman with a heartfelt cover of The Silver Jews “People”.

The exciting news is that Diane Cluck has fully recorded a new album due for release soon, which will be her first proper l.p. release since 2014’s Boneset. This night saw the performance of several of the new songs, the quality of which bodes well for this much anticipated album. The balance of the show was a nice sampling of the best material of Diane’s distinguished career and ultimately there really wasn’t much more that we could have asked for. Diane’s Northeast tour is complete, but we eagerly await her return perhaps for an album release show!

This set was recorded directly from the soundboard at a fairly low volume. The boosting and balance of the levels introduced some background noise into the sound (minor hiss mostly) but the mix and the sound quality is still quite excellent. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show (minus banter):

Diane Cluck
Ridgewood NY

Digital Master Soundboard Recording

Soundboard [Engineer: RL] > 16bit 48kHz wav file > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:35:42]
01 [hello]
02 The Smile
03 [banter – new york]
04 People [Silver Jews]
05 [banter – that’s a club]
06 The Power of Allowing and Receiving
07 Heartloose
08 [banter – new album]
09 Jenny
10 Love You This Much
11 Maybe a Bird
12 Content to Reform
13 [Brian Festa set]
14 We Love You
15 Grandma Say
16 Draw Me Out
17 Pull Out the Bad Bone
18 [banter – thanks]
19 How Long
20 Sara
21 Telepathic Desert
22 Learn to Lose
23 Not Afraid to Be Kind
24 [banter – mellow Friday]
25 Peace I Leave
26 [banter – request]
27 Sandy Ree
28 [banter – merch]
29 Wild Deer at Dawn
30 [encore break]
31 Reveler
32 The Turnaround Road

PLEASE SUPPORT Diane Cluck, visit her website, and purchase her official releases from her Store [HERE].

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support nyctaper


nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.