Grandchildren: May 15, 2013 Glasslands – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Show

May 20, 2013

[Photos by acidjack]

Grandchildren is hardly the only criminally underrated band out of Philadelphia right now (we’ve written about several of them) but they are one of the most compelling. This band has mastered the art of dense, lushly orchestrated rock music with a modern electronic twist — exactly the kind of current sound that screams for a wider audience. Here at Glasslands to celebrate the release of their third LP, Golden Age, the band showed the maturity, poise and musical prowess we first saw in them back in 2009, this time backed by their strongest and most consistent material of their career. Picking a “highlight track” for this show was almost impossible, as Golden Age serves up one good song after another, and the band has worked hard to make the big arrangements come across live. Songs like “No Way Out” excellently demonstrate the band’s refinement of their sound and their ability to write songs that can appeal across genres and generations of fans.

I recorded this set with Naiant X-X omnidirectional mics at the stage lip, plus the Naiant X-R house mics and a soundboard feed from the night’s hardworking engineer Jeremy. The sound quality is outstanding, and we are so pleased with it we are offering the entire set streaming below in addition to MP3 and FLAC downloads. Enjoy!

Stream the entire set:

Direct download of the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.


Glasslands Gallery
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

[Naiant X-X (split omni, ROC stagelip, 3ft split) + Soundboard (engineer: Jeremy)>Edirol R-44 [OCM]] + [Naiant X-R (cardiod, DFC, ORTFish)>Sound Devices USBPre2 (clock sync to R-44)>Sony PCM-D50]>6x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, tube effect)>Audacity 3.0 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, light parallel compression, tagging, downsample)>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Forward
02 Sunrise
03 Golden Age
04 [tuning]
05 End Times
06 No Way Out
07 Saturn Returns
08 Into Gold
09 Where’s the Knife
10 Everlasting
11 Rain Down

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Grandchildren, like them on Facebook, and buy Golden Age directly from Ernest Jenning Record Co. [HERE]


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.