Posts Tagged ‘ Blue Oyster Cult ’

Steve Gunn: January 11, 2015 Rough Trade – FLAC/MP3/Streaming Full Set

January 15, 2015

[photos by Jill Harrison]

One of the very best songs on Steve Gunn‘s Way Out Weather is a song inspired by Steve’s former noisy neighbor. In lesser hands, such banal subject matter might result in a bit of a dud. But Gunn turns the humble beginnings of “Milly’s Garden” into something wonderful and universal, a meditation on unease and the desire to move on. We last saw Gunn at Rough Trade in October, with his full band in tow, so this was a very different, but equally special kind of performance. Celebrating the first anniversary of the once-troubled (by noise complaints, at least) venue, Gunn played this gig solo but left the songs’ guitar explorations. Again, in lesser hands, a ten-plus minute “Old Strange” as a solo opener might not work — but Gunn’s kickoff to the night was magical. Poking fun at his trademark relaxed demeanor, Steve warned the Sunday afternoon crowd at the outset that they might fall asleep, but the house gave him their rapt attention, hanging on words shorn of everything surrounding them but his lone guitar. Gunn was in fine form, making us laugh in between songs that he played with dead-serious intent. To put an exclamation mark on the evening, Gunn closed with “Lurker”, which first debuted on the Three Lobed Recordings boxed set and was a treat as a full-band version back in October.

Since its inception, Rough Trade has been a valuable add to a neighborhood whose venues are depleting rapidly. Even if its surroundings may be fancier than the DIY spots that came before it, hosting an artist like Steve Gunn for your anniversary show proves that the Rough Trade folks intend to remain a credit to what this neighborhood was.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK41 microphones and a soundboard feed from house engineer Kyle Lawrence. The sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC]

Stream the complete show: 

Steve Gunn
Rough Trade (1st Year Anniversary)
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK41 (FOB/DFC/PAS)>KC5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2 + Soundboard (engineer: Kyle Lawrence)>>Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, compression)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, harmonic exciter)>Audacity 2.0.5 (tracking, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time 57:47]
01 [intro banter]
02 Old Strange
03 Shadow Bros
04 Water Wheel
05 [banter2]
06 Wildwood
07 [banter3]
08 Way Out Weather
09 [banter4]
10 Milly’s Garden
11 [banter5]
12 Lurker

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Steve Gunn, visit his website, and buy his albums, all of which have “buy” links here.


Built to Spill: May 20, 2014 Music Hall of Williamsburg – FLAC/MP3/Streaming

May 22, 2014

[photos by Johnny Fried Chicken Boy and acidjack]

There was a period in this site’s history during the 2009-2010 range where we collectively saw Built to Spill more than ten times in a short span (four shows in October 2009 alone). Most bands seen that often that close together would burn you out for good, but we have continued to follow Doug Martsch and his outstanding band since then. The reason Martsch feels he can continue playing New York with such frequency — even when he doesn’t have new material on offer — is that the show doesn’t just go on, its gets better every time. This performance at Music Hall of Williamsburg was easily the best BTS performance I have seen in all of the many times I have experienced this band.

Without the burden of promoting a new album, Martsch felt free to let he and the band’s whimsies roam, playing classic BTS songs like “Stab” from There’s Nothing Wrong With Love alongside newer favorites like “Planting Seeds”. We got songs that were great, short bursts; we also got a nearly ten-minute “Goin’ Against Your Mind” straight into “Carry the Zero” to close out the main set. But what set this show apart were its four cover songs. If you haven’t heard Martsch do his best J. Mascis impersonation, now you can, on this epic cover of Dinosaur Jr.‘s “Sludgefeast”. Or if classic rock is more your thing, you couldn’t go wrong with this phenomenal note-for-note rendition of Blue Öyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear the Reaper”, or BTS’ take on The Byrds’ “Eight Miles High”. The night ended, as did the Brooklyn Bowl show, with the craziest cover of all — a seventeen-minute free-for-all to the tune of “Genius of Love” by Tom Tom Club, which found the audience joining the band on stage for an epic, old-style Brooklyn dance party. It was the kind of thing a band with two fewer decades’ experience might have done, a lark to put a punctuation mark on the night. But that’s the genius of Built to Spill — whether the songs are new or old, the show never stays the same.

I recorded this set along with Johnny Fried Chicken Boy from our usual spot in the balcony directly over the soundboard cage, using Schoeps MK5 cardiod microphones. With some careful editing to mitigate the boomy nature of the house mix, this recording is excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Eight Miles High [The Byrds]”

Stream “Sludgefeast [Dinosaur Jr.]”

Stream “(Don’t Fear) the Reaper [Blue Oyster Cult]”

Stream “Genius of Love [Tom Tom Club]”

Download the complete show: [MP3] | [FLAC] (faster offsite link) | [FLAC] (permanent link – please use if temporary link is no longer working)

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct download links or the files on other sites without our permission. Feel free to re-post the Soundcloud links. Please respect our request.


Built to Spill
Music Hall of Williamsburg
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK5 (Balcony, PAS bar)>KC5>CMC6>Sound Devices USBPre2>Sony PCM-D50>24bit/48kHz WAV>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter, multiband compression)>Audacity 2.0.3 (fades, tracking, amplify, balance, downsample, dither)>FLAC ( level 8 )

Tracks [Total Time: 1:57:32]
01 Revolution
02 The Plan
03 Stab
04 Conventional Wisdom
05 Kicked It in the Sun
06 Mess With Time
07 Liar
08 Eight Miles High [The Byrds]
09 Reasons
10 [tuning]
11 Planting Seeds
12 Sludgefeast [Dinosaur Jr.]
13 [tuning2]
14 Goin’ Against Your Mind
15 Carry the Zero
16 [encore break]
17 (Don’t Fear) The Reaper [Blue Öyster Cult]
18 Big Dipper
19 [tuning3]
20 Genius of Love [Tom Tom Club]

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Built To Spill, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Official Store at their website [HERE].


Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.