Andrew Jackson Jihad: July 18, 2015 Knitting Factory – Flac/MP3/Streaming

July 21, 2015

AJJ Knit
[screen cap from this video]

Its actually kind of odd that I had not previously seen Andrew Jackson Jihad in their ten years of existence. The band displays a set of influences that could come right off the the pages of NYCTaper — Dead Milkmen, Moldy Peaches and of course the Mountain Goats, among others. Indeed anti-folk legend and old friend of the site Jeffrey Lewis opened this show. The band also now records for one of our favorite labels, Side One Dummy Records. But all was remedied on Friday night at the Knitting Factory. Due to personal plans I arrived late to this show, midway through Jeffrey’s set. When I opened the door to the performance room at the Knit it was hard to even navigate my way to the recording spot as the room was absolutely packed. When Andrew Jackson Jihad took the stage, the crowd became a single force, pogo-ing and shouting the words to every song in unison. This was one of the more animated audiences I’ve seen in quite a long time and the band responded in kind. The set drew from their entire catalog but with a concentration on 2014’s Christmas Island, with more than half of that album included in the setlist. We are streaming a song from that album “Linda Ronstadt” below, along with the band’s crazy encore, where they fit 16 cover songs into a less-than-five-minute mashup. AJJ has a couple of date in the States before they head to Australia for September, tour dates here.

I recorded this set with the Schoeps cards mounted at the soundboard booth and blended with a feed mixed expertly by the band’s FOH Rick. The sound quality is superb. Enjoy!

There’s a really nice set of photos from this show at DMNDR [here].

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream “Linda Ronstadt”:

Stream “Sixteen Song Cover Medley”:

Andrew Jackson Jihad
Knitting Factory
Brooklyn NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard [Engineer Rick] + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wavs > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:18:03]
01 Brave As A Noun
02 Temple Grandin
03 Kokopelli Face Tattoo
04 Distance
05 Love in the Time of Human Papillomavirus
06 A Song In Memory Of Stormy The Rabbit
07 People II The Reckoning
08 Bad Bad Things
09 I Wanna Rock Out in My Dreams
10 Getting Naked Playing with Guns
11 Strong Enough [Sheryl Crow]
12 Rejoice
13 Deathlessness
14 [banter- Wolf Eyes]
15 Fucc The Devil
16 Do Re And Me
17 [banter – earplugs]
18 Linda Ronstadt
19 You Don’t Deserve Yourself
20 Jesus Saves
21 Free Bird
22 Big Bird
23 [encore break]
24 Sixteen Song Cover Medley

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, PLEASE SUPPORT Andrew Jackson Jihad, visit their website, and purchase their official releases from the Store at their website and their latest album Christmas Island from the Side One Dummy Records site [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.