Wreckless Eric & Amy Rigby: December 1, 2012 Maxwell’s – Flac/MP3/Streaming

January 11, 2013

Amy Eric
[still from this video]

Intrepid reporter and frequent NYCTaper contributor neild was out in Hoboken in December (weren’t we all), and he was fortunate to capture the unique couple of Amy and Eric. He reports:

If you only know Wreckless Eric from his late ’70s Stiff Records hits (“Whole Wide World,” “Reconnez Cherie”) and Amy Rigby from her breakout ’90s singer-songwriter albums (“Diary of a Mod Housewife,” “Middlescence”), man, have you been missing out. The duo have been a couple on- and off-stage for close to eight years now — ever since a chance meeting at a Yo La Tengo Hanukkah show, hilariously related by Amy in her new song “Do You Remember That?” — and recently relocated from a small town in France to an equally small town in the Catskills. Fortunately for their U.S. fans, this has meant a lot more local performances, with a recent tour for their new CD “A Working Museum” culminating in this return to Maxwell’s, a perfect showcase for their country-folk-meets-psychedelic-punk duets and always-riotous stage banter.

A Working Museum is Eric and Amy’s third album together (plus one brilliant 7-inch, “Bobblehead Doll/Teflon Wok,” available from their website), and most of this set is drawn from it, along with a handful of songs from their previous albums plus a few solo favorites. This show also featured the surprise addition of special guest Chris Butler of the Waitresses, who added acoustic guitar and percussion on several songs, including an epic set-penultimate performance of “Whole Wide World.”

I recorded the audience portion from about ten feet back of stage center with Core Sound binaural mics; I’d planned to hook up a separate recorder to the soundboard, but when one of my cables turned out to be bad, heroic Maxwell’s soundguy Carson stepped in and burned a soundboard feed directly to CDR. (There were a couple of SBD dropouts, one at the start of the show and one in the middle of “Whole Wide World,” but these were mostly inaudibly patched with the plain AUD recording.) The result is an excellent matrix of possibly the best of several Eric and Amy shows I’ve had the pleasure of attending. Huge thanks to Carson for his help, and to Amy for signing off on posting this here.

Stream “Whole Wide World”

Download the Complete show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Wreckless Eric & Amy Rigby
Hoboken, NJ

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and mastered by neil d

Source 1: AUD > CoreSound Binaurals > MM-EBM-1 battery box (with bass roll-off) > Line In > iRiver H320 (Rockboxed) > AIFF > Sound Studio
Source 2: Direct SBD feed > CDR > Toast > AIFF > Sound Studio
Mixed in Sound Studio > AIFF > XAct > FLAC

01 intro
02 Astrovan
03 When I Get Out of Breath
04 Ballad of Easy Rider
05 Another Drive-in Saturday
06 Please Be Nice to Her
07 Til The Wheels Fall Off
08 Duvet Fever
09 Rebel Girl, Rebel Girl
10 The Doubt
11 Days of Jack and Jill
12 Genovese Bag
13 Zero to Minus One
14 Teflon Wok
15 Bobblehead Doll
16 Do You Remember That
17 Whole Wide World
18 Dancing With Joey Ramone

If you enjoyed this recording, please support Eric and Amy by visiting their websites amyrigby.com and wrecklesseric.com, and purchase A Working Museum and their other recordings from their online store: http://www.amyrigby.com/amyshop.html.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to Wreckless Eric & Amy Rigby: December 1, 2012 Maxwell’s – Flac/MP3/Streaming

  1. crackblind
    January 21, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Thanks for posting this. That’s my video you took the still from.

    I took my wife to the show. She went in only knowing how much I love Whole Wide World and came out a huge fan. We were lucky enough to get Working Museum signed by both Eric & Amy. Best part was it made it easier figuring out what to get her for her birthday – the rest of their catalog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.