Disappears – February 28, 2015 Rough Trade – FLAC/ALAC/MP3/Streaming

March 9, 2015

[photo by enobo]

We’ve been on the Disappears train for a while now, but the band has taken things up another notch with their latest song cycle, Irreal. Backing away from the progression of the last few records, including the excellent Era from 2013, Irreal retreats into the darkness, trading some of the band’s more propulsive melodies for deeper textures and adding to the sense of gloom that’s always been a part of the band’s sound. If that doesn’t sound like the ideal soundtrack for a Saturday night to you, though, you’re wrong.

Disappears and Canadian fellow travelers Suuns sold out this double bill at Rough Trade, and anticipation had peaked by the time Disappears took the stage with the clanging, slow burn of “Interpretation”, the leadoff track from Irreal. It made for a daring but great choice, sucking the crowd in before picking the pace of with Era’s “Elite Typical”. From there, the setlist jumped across the band’s catalog, with the Irreal songs strengthening the older material by providing a change of pace and tone, giving us a chance to appreciate the layers of sound the band built up around Noah Leger’s laser-sharp percussion. But just as soon as a song like “I/O” lulls you into a trance, “Ultra” comes back and smacks you sideways. That dynamic continued for the hour, and gave the show a dimension that will serve them well on the rest of this tour. The band’s current engagements are on the West Coast, with Hookworms, which is another double bill not to be missed.

I recorded this set with Schoeps MK4V cardiod microphones, an Aerco custom preamp, and a dialed-in soundboard feed from the Rough Trade engineer Kam Biehl. The sound quality is outstanding, probably our best recording yet from this venue. Enjoy!

Download the complete set: [MP3] | [FLAC] | [Apple Lossless]

Stream the complete set:

Rough Trade NYC
Brooklyn, NY USA

Exclusive download hosted at nyctaper.com
Recorded and produced by acidjack

Schoeps MK4V (inside SBD cage, PAS)>KCY>Z-PFA>Aerco MP-2 + Soundboard [Engineer: Kam] >> Edirol R-44 [OCM]>2x24bit/48kHz WAV>Adobe Audition CS 5.5 (align, mix down, limiter, fades)>Izotope Ozone 5 (EQ, exciter)>Audacity 2.0.5 (track, amplify, balance, downsample, dither>FLAC ( level 8 )

01 Interpretation
02 Elite Typical
03 JOA
04 I/O
05 Ultra
06 Another Thought
07 Minor Patterns
08 Replicate
09 Irreal
10 Halcyon Days

If you enjoyed this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Disappears, visit their website, and buy Irreal and their other releases here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



nyctaper.com is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are @nyctaper.com as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of nyctaper.com is strictly prohibited.

nyctaper.com hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.