Posts Tagged ‘ Jon Shaw ’

Cass McCombs: January 7, 2016 Bowery Ballroom

January 11, 2016

[photos by Will Oliver]

The timing was excellent. My first show of the new year took place at the legendary Bowery Ballroom and featured one of my favorite artists. And did Cass McCombs ever deliver. We’ve seen Cass perform intense shows, fun shows, and even split shows with the Meat Puppets. But what Cass and his band did on Thursday night was one for the ages — an over two-hour epic night that featured a nice cross-section of material from his healthy catalog. Ostensibly Cass is on tour in support of his new album A Folk Set Apart: Rarities, B-Sides & Space Junk, Etc., which as its title makes clear, is a compilation. But the band only played a couple of songs from the new album, instead treating us to some inspired versions of older Cass material. Of note were the last two songs played — a huge thirteen-minute version of “County Line” and the finale, a fourteen minute take on “Dreams Come True Girl”, which also included a dual drum solo. The band this time out included the addition of two drummers (Jesse Lee and Ryan Sawyer) to replace Joe Russo (currently on tour with JRAD), and Cass regulars Dan Iead on guitar and Jon Shaw on bass. With several years together, the unit was both tight when necessary and also capable of letting loose for extended segments (see above) which ultimately provided us with a lengthy show that literally never lagged and was chock full of highlights.

I recorded this set from our usual location in this venue and the sound quality is excellent. Enjoy!

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Stream the Complete Show [minus banter tracks]:

Cass McCombs
Bowery Ballroom
New York NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Schoeps CCM4u Cardioids > Sound Devices 744t > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (post-production) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 2:02:28]
01 [intro]
02 Night Of The World
03 Big Wheel
04 [new song – River of Blood]
05 Brighter
06 [band introductions]
07 Name Written In Water
08 My Sister My Spouse
09 [new song – I Want to Know]
10 Robin Egg Blue
11 Aeon of Aquarius Blues
12 I Cannot Lie
13 Morning Star
14 Prima Donna
15 [new song – Why Does it Rain]
16 Home on the Range
17 County Line
18 [band intro – encore break]
19 Dreams Come True Girl

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, PLEASE SUPPORT Cass McCombs, visit his website, and purchase A Folk Set Apart: Rarities, B-Sides & Space Junk, Etc. from the Domino Records website [HERE].


Cass McCombs: December 12, 2013 Bowery Ballroom – Flac/MP3/Streaming

December 18, 2013

[photo by Will Oliver at We All Want Someone To Shout For]

Cass McCombs new album Big Wheel and Others is a real departure from his recent work. In 2011, he released both Wit’s End and Humor Risk and both albums owed much to the influence of the more sleepy Laurel Canyon music school. The shows in support of those albums were compellingly mellow and in particular the Bowery show in 2011 was one of the best shows we saw all that year. But Big Wheel is anything but sleepy — its pretty much a straight rock album and an ambitious double album at that. The tour in support of the album has been a lengthy cross-country trip that arrived at Bowery Ballroom on Thursday night. Cass’s band is a quartet of individual renowned in their own right, with the drums manned by Joe Russo, whose name has popped up often on this site in 2013. Dan Iead from the late great powerpop band The Broken West played both lead guitar and pedal steal, with versatile Portlander Jon Shaw (Battle Hymns and Gardens, Ez Weiss Quartet) (correction, thanks to comment: “Wolf!, Shpongle, Nicole Atkins, The Broken West, The Complete Last Waltz, etc”) on bass. The strength of the band was obvious from the start, as the album opener led off the set with a burst of energy. We’re streaming that track below. The balance of the set was a nice mix of material young and old — there were just six of the nineteen Big Wheel songs along with a democratic selection from each of Cass’s prior records. The Cass McCombs US tour is over, but he’ll be in Europe for six weeks in January and February.

I recorded this set with the Sennheiser Cards mounted at our usual spot in the center balcony. The room mix was quite superb with kudos to Cass’s tour FOH Chris Preston. We mixed in a very conservative amount of board feed to supplement the room mics and the sound quality is quite excellent. Enjoy!

Stream “Big Wheel”:

Download the Complete Show [MP3] / [FLAC]

Note: All of the material on this site is offered with artist permission, free to fans, at our expense. The only thing we ask is that you download the material directly from this site, rather than re-posting the direct links or the files on other sites without our permission. Please respect our request.

Cass McCombs
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Sennheiser MKH-8040s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:35:01]
01 Big Wheel
02 There Can Be Only One
03 Love Thine Enemy
04 Crick in My Neck
05 Morning Star
06 Angel Blood
07 Aeon of Aquarius Blues
08 Dreams Come True Girl
09 Lionkiller
10 The Burning of the Temple 2012
11 You Saved My Life
12 What Isn’t Nature
13 The Same Thing
14 County Line
15 That’s That
16 [band intro/encore break]
17 Sacred Heart

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Cass McCombs, visit his website, and purchase Big Wheel And Others from the Domino Records website [HERE].

Support nyctaper

DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.