Shilpa Ray: January 21, 2011 Brooklyn Bowl – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

January 23, 2011

[photo courtesy of Carly Sioux]

In a venue that sometime can feel like an advertisement for attention deficit disorder, on Friday night Shilpa Ray used her tremendous stage energy to cut through the Brooklyn Bowl distractions to deliver an outstanding set. With Jack White and a sixteen person entourage bowling in one corner, sports fans watching the Knicks on the large screen tv in another corner, and the floor of the venue filled with the persistent din of chatter, the venue did not offer an easy task for the live performers. But it was the night of her CD release party, and Shilpa was not to be denied. As she opened the set with “Beating St. Louis”, her powerful voice cut through the din and demanded attention. The show was propelled by seven straight songs before Shilpa came up for a breath after “Stick It To The Woman”, by which time she had the rapt attention of at least the front half of the crowd. The set consisted of the entire new album — Teenage & Torture was released Tuesday on Knitting Factory Records, with some older material sprinkled in. The encore segment began with a musically perfect cover of Pink Floyd’s The Wall anthem “In The Flesh” (streaming below) and continued with a cover of Red Kross. The show’s closing song was an extended version of “Genie’s Drugs” that ended the night on another high note.

I recorded this set with the hypercard Neumanns on a 14 foot stand from in front of the soundboard and mixed with a well-balanced feed from the board. The mix is 2/3 board, since the audience recording is marred by the high volume of the persistent din of the crowd. Overall, the final result is an excellent recording. Enjoy!

Stream “Venus Shaver”:

Stream “In The Flesh” (Pink Floyd cover):

Direct download of complete show in MP3 files (HERE)

Download the Complete show in FLAC [HERE].

Shilpa Ray and Her Happy Hookers
Brooklyn Bowl
Brooklyn, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:15:01]
01 Beating St. Louis
02 Heaven In Stereo
03 Venus Shaver
04 Erotolepsy
05 Pop Song For Euthanasia
06 Requiem In A Key I Don’t Know
07 Dames A Dime A Dozen
08 Stick It To The Woman
09 [banter]
10 Liquidation Sale
11 [banter2]
12 [new solo song]
13 Hookers
14 [banter3]
15 The Chelsea Clinic Physical
16 [encore break]
17 In The Flesh [Pink Floyd]
18 Neurotica [Red Kross]
19 [banter4]
20 Genie’s Drugs
21 [outro]

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Shilpa Ray and Her Happy Hookers, visit their website, and purchase the new album Teenage & Torture from Knitting Factory Records [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to Shilpa Ray: January 21, 2011 Brooklyn Bowl – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. Stephen
    June 9, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Thanks so much for this recording! I was at the show, which was fabulous, and I am duly impressed by your ability to capture the music through our roaring cheers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.