The Mountain Goats – March 30, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

April 10, 2011

[photo by Maryanne Ventrice – courtesy of Prefix Magazine]

The final night of the Mountain Goats outstanding three-show run at Bowery Ballroom was the shortest set of the week, but certainly did not lack in the intensity or good feeling of the previous two. John referenced the ease of staying several days in one town and perhaps because the band knew it would have to travel that night, the set contained significantly less “banter” than the earlier shows. However, the music was as rich as ever, and Craig Finn returned for an encore guest performance, this time singing on both “Palmcorder Yajna” (streaming below), and “This Year”, where the entire Megafaun band joined on stage for the first time. Other set highlights included rarities “Ontario”, “Love Love Love” and “Prowl Great Cain”. The Mountain Goats tour is continuing through this week, and returns to the Northeast for a Philadelphia show on April 15 — a show I’m considering attending on a lark. The NYC experience was that good.

I recorded this set in the same manner as the previous two nights, and the sound quality is again superb. Enjoy!

Stream “Palmcorder Yajna” (with Craig Finn):

This Recording is now available to Download in FLAC and MP3 at [HERE].

The Mountain Goats
Bowery Ballroom
New York, NY USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, mixdown, set fades) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > Flac Frontend (level 7, align sector boundaries) > flac

Recorded and Produced by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:31:59]
01 [introduction]
02 Liza Forever Minnelli
03 Jeff Davis County Blues
04 Southwood Plantation Road
05 Dinu Lipatti’s Bones
06 Goddamn These Vampires
07 [banter]
08 Seeing Daylight
09 Outer Scorpion Squadron
10 [banter2]
11 You Were Cool
12 Love Love Love
13 Matthew 25:21
14 Age of Kings
15 [banter3]
16 Broom People
17 [banter4]
18 Prowl Great Cain
19 Ontario
20 Snow Crush Goddamn Killing Song
21 Never Quite Free
22 Palmcorder Yajna
23 [encore break]
24 No Children
25 [banter5]
26 This Year
27 [second encore break]
28 The Best Ever Death Metal Band from Denton

If you email nyctaper for access to this recording, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT The Mountain Goats, visit their website, purchase All Eternals Deck from the Merge Records website [HERE], and purchase other Mountain Goats official releases from their website.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to The Mountain Goats – March 30, 2011 Bowery Ballroom – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Song

  1. Smintjes
    April 11, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Wow, thanks again!

  2. Smintjes
    April 11, 2011 at 9:17 am

    “Snow Crush Killing Song”, one of my favourites.

  3. JJ
    April 16, 2011 at 10:23 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.