Blitzen Trapper: December 9, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

December 13, 2011

[photo courtesy of Christopher Altenburg at Monster Fresh]

Blitzen Trapper are not currently on tour, but as a bonus for their trip East to play Letterman on Thursday night, the band added an intimate show at Maxwell’s on Friday. After spending much of the last three months on tour in support of their sixth album, the September release American Goldwing (Sub Pop), this one-off show gave Blitzen Trapper the opportunity to stretch out and play some rare tracks and a lengthy set. Indeed, the set lasted well over ninety minutes and contained twenty-five songs, including “Silver Moon” and “Not Your Lover”, songs absent from recent setlists. On Letterman on Thursday, the band played “Might Find it Cheap”, so that Friday’s version was tight and energetic — we’re streaming it below. The intimate nature of the venue also created a nice interaction between the band and the diehards who were able to secure tickets to the sold-out show, and that led to some hilarious banter. Blitzen Trapper is a band that seems to really enjoy playing music and on Friday night that was more than evident.

I recorded this set with the standard setup for this venue, with the Neumanns mounted inside the front right corner of the soundboard booth and mixed with a board feed. Blitzen Trapper’s outstanding tour FOH Martin did a superb job on the mix and this recording is one of the best we’ve ever captured at Maxwell’s. Enjoy!

Stream “Might Find It Cheap”:

Stream “Good Times Bad Times” [Led Zeppelin cover]:

This recording is now available for download in FLAC or MP3 at [HERE].

Blitzen Trapper
Hoboken, NJ USA

Digital Master Recording
Soundboard + Audience Matrix

Soundboard + Neumann KM-150s > Edirol R-44 (Oade Concert Mod) > 2 x 24bit 48kHz wav files > Soundforge (level adjustments, set fades, downsample) > CDWave 1.95 (tracking) > TLH > flac (320 MP3 and Tagging via Foobar)

Recorded and Produced
by nyctaper

[Total Time 1:34:54]
01 [intro]
02 American Goldwing
03 God and Suicide
04 My Hometown
05 Furr
06 Might Find It Cheap
07 Love and Hate
08 Fletcher
09 Fire and Fast Bullets
10 Gold For Bread
11 Love The Way You Walk Away
12 Stolen Shoes and A Rifle
13 Black River Killer
14 Silver Moon
15 Talking It Easy Too Long
16 Good Ol Boys [Waylon Jennings]
17 Big Black Bird
18 Evening Star
19 Miss Spiritual Tramp
20 Your Crying Eyes
21 Street Fighting Sun
22 Wild Mountain Nation
23 [encore break]
24 Not Your Lover
25 [banter – thanks to Martin and Sara]
26 Lady on the Water
27 [banter – Summer of 69]
28 Jericho
29 Good Times Bad Times [Zep]

If you download this recording from NYCTaper, we expect that you will PLEASE SUPPORT Blitzen Trapper, visit their website, and purchase American Goldwing from the Store at their site [HERE].

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Blitzen Trapper: December 9, 2011 Maxwell’s – Flac and MP3 Downloads + Streaming Songs

  1. Aaron
    December 13, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Wonderful, wonderful show! The recording sounds beautiful , thank you!

  2. Malte
    December 15, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Fantastic sound, fantastic show! Thank you very much for sending me the FLAC-link. I’m totally thrilled ! ! !

  3. Ryan
    December 15, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Tip of the hat to you good sir…easily one of the best recordings.

  4. John
    December 16, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for the great recording!! For anyone interested, I uploaded some pix from the Maxwell’s show here:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DISCLAIMER and LEGAL NOTICE is a live music blog that offers a new paradigm of music distribution on the web. The recordings are offered for free on this site as are the music posts, reviews and links to artist sites. All recordings are posted with artist permission or artists with an existing pro-taping policy.

All recordings and original content posted on this site are as live recordings pursuant to 17 U.S.C. Section 106, et. seq. Redistribution of nyctaper recordings without consent of is strictly prohibited. hereby waives all copyright claims to any and all recordings posted on this site to THE PERFORMERS ONLY. If any artist posted on this site requests that recordings be removed, those recordings will be removed forthwith.